Why I don’t use the rape theme in my stories

When I first came to Wattpad, I was shocked to discover a lot of love stories that revolve around a rapist and his victim.  I thought, since when did rape become an exciting theme for a love story?  For those who are not familiar with Wattpad, this is an online community of writers and readers where those who love to write upload their novels for the whole community to read for free. Anyways, the thing that shocked me the most was that these stories were written not by men but by young girls!  Yes, you’ve read it right! Young girls!  Though I do believe it happens, just like there is Stockholm Syndrome for kidnap victims, do you really need to romanticize rape?

To satisfy my curiosity, I skimmed through the pages of the rape-victim love stories and these were what I found out:  (1) the rapist is extraordinarily good-looking with a body to die for;  (2) the rapist is filthy rich and a member of a dangerous gang who can have any woman he fancies; (3) the victim is oftentimes depicted as a nerdy-looking woman who’s either stupid or weak or both, and; (4) the girl-victim is dirt poor or indebted to somebody dangerous – thus she needs protection from the rapist-lover. Sigh. What message does these kind of stories tell very young readers, especially girls in their pre-teens? That it’s okay to be raped if the rapist looks like a Hollywood star who just stepped out of a fashion magazine?

You might be shocked to know that many of these rapist-victim love stories made it to Wattpad’s hot list, regardless of genre. This simply shows that a lot of readers are ticked by it. And what’s even depressing is the fact that most of these readers are women themselves. But why do I don’t jump on the bandwagon? Simple. Rape is rape. No matter what angle you’re looking at, it doesn’t change the fact that it is a heinous crime.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Akaluv says:

    While I do agree with you, I also want to point out that’s Wattpad in a nutshell. It isn’t this amazing writing site that is appears to be. Many of the stories are badly written with the same type of characters. And the hot list, ah! The hot list contains some of the worse written stories. Since many young girls read stories on that site, it is indeed sad. Or maybe what’s sadder, is they actually want to read about that stuff. Hmm, it’s hard to know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. That’s the most depressing part. The story that gets popular right away is the one with a lot of sexually explicit scenes. And these are mostly written by young girls! 😦

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Akaluv says:

        Well Wattpad helps promote stories with explicit content. A book titled “After”, a One Direction fanfiction about Harry Styles being an abusive bad boy, was published and Wattpad supported it. Harry Styles character is mentally abusive to the main female character, and they always have sex in the story (mind you, four books of the same thing) . The readers of the fanfic were only 13-18 year old girls. As I said before, Wattpad helps promote it. That After story had over 1B views. Wattpad cares about money and views, not quality writing or promoting decent stories.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Yeah, I think I’ve seen that one. Just didn’t read past the first page because I thought for a native speaker her written English seemed not that good.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Akaluv says:

        yeah, it wasn’t written well. It’s sad when poorly written books about abuse can get published while authors who work hard on perfecting their craft don’t.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Yeah. I feel you.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. mstylermarie says:

    I agree with everything that is being said here. I’m a writer on WattPad, and I’ll admit when I read the description of the book, most of the time it’s poorly written. I’ll be so disappointed. Also, I’ve never read a book on WattPad about the victim of rape falling in love with the rapist, but I have read books about the young girl or adult falls in love and is weak towards the guy. Even when he’s being a complete jerk towards her. That irks me to my core.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bellarm says:

    I do agree with what you have vehemently stated that rape is rape, a heinous crime that must not in any way be looked upon as a basis for an evolving love story, I do hope that there is a way for Wattpad to screen badly written stories that are uploaded into its site. There are a lot of exasperatingly trash stories that are written by very young girls who can’t seem to see things in a realistic setting. There are, however, quite a number of writers in Wattpad who can pen stories with unique plots and refreshingly (and grammatically correct) apt dialogues that remain appealing to readers who are discerning of what quality works are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

